Bookmark and Share

Find us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Support us on Amazon Smile


The first intensive exploration of the unrecognized psychological and social aspects of this increasingly controversial American cultural practice. Endorsed by dozens of professionals in psychology, psychiatry, child development, pediatrics, obstetrics, childbirth education, sociology and anthropology.


What You Can Do

Consultation and Counseling

For circumcised men and expectant parents

Educate Yourself

Get books, DVDs, CDs, and more

Volunteer

Help protect the next generation

Tell a Friend About Us

And those who may have future children

Talk About Circumcision

Our tips can turn discomfort into power

"What's done to children, they will do to society."

Karl Menninger, psychiatrist

"Parents do not know what they are choosing, and physicians do not feel what they are doing."

Ronald Goldman, Ph.D., author

"In response to circumcision, the baby cries a helpless, panicky, breathless, high-pitched cry!...[or] lapses into a semi-coma. Both of these states...are abnormal states in the newborn."

Justin Call, M.D., pediatrician

"Doctors who circumcise are the most resistant to change. They will not admit that they made a critical mistake by amputating an important part of the penis."

Paul Fleiss, M.D., pediatrician

"In this case, the old dictum 'If it ain't broke, don't fix it' seems to make good sense."

Eugene Robin, M.D., professor

"A whole life can be shaped by an old trauma, remembered or not."

Lenore Terr, M.D., child psychiatrist

"If we are to have real peace, we must begin with the children."

Mahatma Gandhi

"We are interconnected. When a baby boy's sexuality is not safe, no one's sexuality is safe."

Ronald Goldman, Ph.D., author

Medicaid Directors of States That Fund Medicaid Circumcisions

See Sample Letter

Alabama
Stephanie Azar, Commissioner
Alabama Medicaid Agency
501 Dexter Avenue
P.O. Box 5624
Montgomery, AL 36103-5624
Tel: (334) 242-5600
stephanie.azar@medicaid.alabama.gov

Alaska
Margaret Brodie
Medicaid Director, Health Care Services
Alaska Department of Health and Social Services
4501 Business Park Boulevard, Building L
Anchorage, AK 99503-7167
Phone: 907-334-2520 
margaret.brodie@alaska.gov

Arkansas
Dawn Zekis Stehle, Deputy Director, 
Division of Health and Medicaid Services
Arkansas Department of Human Services,
112 West 8th Street, Slot S401, Little Rock, AR 72201-4608
Phone: 501-682-8740
dawn.zekis@arkansas.gov


Connecticut

Kate McEvoy, State Medicaid Director
Connecticut Department of Social Services 
Medical Care Administration 
55 Farmington Avenue
Hartford, CT 06105
Phone: 860-424-5067
kate.mcevoy@ct.gov


Delaware

Stephen Groff, Medicaid Director
Division of Medicaid & Medical Assistance
Delaware Department of Health and Social Services
1901 N. Dupont Highway, The Lewis Building
New Castle, DE 19720,
Phone: 302-255-9626 
stephen.groff@state.de.us 

Georgia
Linda Wiant, Chief of the Medicaid Division
Georgia Department of Community Health
2 Peachtree Street, NW, Suite 36450,
Atlanta, GA 30303
Phone: 404-651-8681
lwiant@dch.ga.gov


Hawaii

Medicaid Director Judy Mohr-Peterson, PhD
Med-QUEST Division Administrator, 
Hawaii Department of Human Services
601 Kamokila Blvd, Room 518
PO Box 700190
Kapolei, HI 96709-0190 
Phone: 808-692-8050
jmohrpeterson@dhs.hawaii.gov


Illinois

Felicia Norwood,  Administrator
Division of Medical Programs
Illinois Department of Healthcare and Family Services
201 South Grand Avenue East, 3rd Floor
Springfield, IL 62763-0001
Phone: 217-782-2570
felicia.norwood@illinois.gov

Indiana
Joe Moser, Director of Medicaid
Indiana Family and Social Services Administration,
402 West Washington Street, Room W461, MS 25
Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone:  317-234-8725
Joe.Moser@fssa.in.gov


Iowa

Ms. Mikki Stier, Medicaid Director
Iowa Department of Human Services
100 Army Post Road
Des Moines, IA 50315
Phone: 515-256-4640 
mstier@dhs.state.ia.us


Kansas

Mike Randol, Secretary
Kansas Department of Health and Environment
900 SW Jackson Avenue, Suite 900
Topeka, KS 66612
Phone: 785-296-3512
mrandol@kdheks.gov


Kentucky

Stephen P. Miller, Commissioner
Department for Medicaid Services
Kentucky Cabinet for Health & Family Services
275 East Main Street, 6 West A, Frankfort, KY 40621
Phone: 502-564-4321
stephen.miller@ky.gov

Maryland
Shannon McMahon, Deputy Secretary
Health Care Financing
Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
201 West Preston Street-Room 525
Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone: 410-767-4139
shannon.mcmahon@maryland.gov


Massachusetts

Daniel Tsai, Assistant Secretary for MassHealth
Office of Medicaid
Department of Health and Human Services
1 Ashburn Place, 11th Floor,  Room 1109
Boston, MA 02108
Phone: 617-573-1770
daniel.tsai@state.ma.us


Michigan

Chris Priest, Medicaid Director
Michigan Department of Community Health
400 South Pine Street,
Lansing, MI 48913, 
Phone: 517-241-7882
priestc@michigan.gov


Nebraska
Calder Lynch, Director
Division of Medicaid & Long-Term Care
Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services
301 Centennial Mall South, 3rd Floor, PO Box 95026
Lincoln, NE 68509-5026,
Phone: 402-471-2135
calder.lynch@nebraska.gov

New Hampshire
Medicaid Director Deb Fournier
Office of Medicaid Business and Policy
New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services
129 Pleasant Street
Concord, NH 03301-6521
Phone: 603-271-9434
dfournier@dhhs.state.nh.us


New Jersey

Meghan Davey, Director
Division of Medical Assistance and Health Services
New Jersey Department of Human Services
7 Quakerbridge Plaza, PO Box 712
Trenton, NJ 08625-0712
Phone: 609-588-2600
meghan.davey@dhs.state.nj.us .


New Mexico

Nancy Smith-Leslie, Director
Medical Assistance Division
New Mexico Department of Human Services
PO Box 2348
Santa Fe, NM 87504-2348
Phone: 505-827-6253
nancy.smith-leslie@state.nm.us


New York

Jason Helgerson, Medicaid Director
Deputy Commissioner, New York Department of Health
Empire State Plaza, Corning Tower, Room 1466
Albany, NY 12237
Phone: 518-474-3018
jhg03@health.state.ny.us


Ohio

Barbara Sears, Director
Ohio Department of Medicaid
50 West Town Street, 4th Floor
Columbus, OH 43215
Phone:614-466-4443
Barbara.Sears@medicaid.ohio.gov

Oklahoma
Becky Pasternik-Ikard, Medicaid Director
Oklahoma Health Care Authority
4345 N. Lincoln Blvd.
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
Phone: 405-522-7365
becky.pasternik-ikard@okhca.org


Pennsylvania

Leesa M. Allen, Executive Medicaid Director
Pennsylvania Department of Public Welfare
Office of the Secretary
331 Health & Welfare Building
Harrisburg, PA 17120
Phone: 717-787-2600
leallen@pa.gov


Rhode Island

Medicaid Director Patrick Tigue, 
Executive Office of Health and Human Services
74 West Road, 1st Floor, Hazard Building
Cranston, RI 02920,
Phone: 401-462-2121 
patrick.tigue@ohhs.ri.gov


South Dakota

Johanna Barraza-Cannon, Interim Medicaid Director
Medical Services, South Dakota Department of Social Service
700 Governors Drive, Kneip Building
Pierre, SD 57501-2291
Phone: 605-773-3495
johanna.barraza-cannon@state.sd.us


Tennessee

Dr. Wendy J. Long, Director, Deputy Commissioner
Bureau of TennCare
Tennessee Department of Finance and Administration, 
310 Great Circle Road, 
Nashville, TN 37243,
Phone: 615) 507-6443
wendy.long@tn.gov


Texas

Jami Snyder, Associate Commissioner
Medicaid/CHIP, Medical and Social Services Division
Texas Health and Human Services Commission
4900 Lamar Boulevard,
Austin, TX 78751 
Phone: 512-707-6096
jami.snyder@hhsc.state.tx.us


Vermont

Medicaid Commissioner Corey  Gustafson
Department of Vermont Health Access
280 State Drive,
Waterbury, VT 05671.
Phone: 802-879-5901
Cory.Gustafson@vermont.gov


Virginia

Cynthia B. Jones, Director,
Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services
600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300
Richmond, VA 23219
Phone: 804-786-8099
cindi.jones@dmas.virginia.gov


Washington, D.C.

Claudia Schlosberg, Medicaid Director
District of Columbia Department of Health Care Finance
One Judiciary Square, 441 4th Street NW
Washington, DC 20001
Phone: 202-442-9075
claudia.schlosberg@dc.gov


West Virginia

Cynthia Beane, Acting Commissioner,
Bureau of Medical Services
Department of Health and Human Resources
350 Capitol Street, Room 251
Charleston, WV 25301-3706
Phone: (304) 558-1700cynthia.e.beane@wv.gov


Wisconsin

Michael Heifetz, Medicaid Director
Division Administrator, Health Care Access and Accountability
Wisconsin Department of Health Services
1 West Wilson Street, Room 350, PO Box 309
Madison, WI 53701-0309
Phone: 608-266-1271


Wyoming

Medicaid Agent Teri Green
Wyoming Department of Health
6101 Yellowstone Road, Suite 210
Cheyenne, WY 82009, 
Phone: 307-777-7531
teri.green@wyo.gov